Texturing my Dystopian Vehicle for My High Poly Project and Portfolio

My task is to create or continue working on a high poly model that fits the brief.

I started using the Multi-cut tool to create a line down the model, I did this to delete half of my model. By doing this allows me to UV unwrap and texture one half of my model making the production of the texturing much more efficient because once I use the mirror tool the UVs will be stacked on top of each other allowing me to create one texture instead of doing two separate textures.

The main tools I used in Photoshop to create all of my dystopian vehicle’s texture is the Gradient, Bruch, opacity and Hue/saturation tools to design my vehicle’s texture. The theme of my dystopian vehicle’s texture was inspired from recital and dust bins, this idea came to me when I was taking out the bins and I knottiest that some yellow plant life was growing at the bottom of the bin, it fades as the plant got higher up. I added this design on to my vehicle because I imagined that the dystopian era will be heavily populated and pollution will affect how clean vehicles will be, so I used this to bring my project to life.

When I had finished texturing and applying it on to my model I mirrored the half section to create the howl model. Next I started to insert lighting to make my vehicle look more presentable and dramatic. I used orange and blue coloured lighting to fit a night time theme. The orange coloured light is off street lights and the blue light is off neon signs.

The problems I had as I was texturing is that every time I had to move from one to another computer like windows to a mac computer the UVs will be distorted in a jumbled mess, luckily I had experience this type of problem before. There is no solution to fix this but if I don’t save and move to the appropriate computer that I had used when UV unwrapping it will be as I last left off.

Here is my final render:

(Night Version) Van Render.png

Leave a comment